Lyon Hockey

Women’s Under-18 team builds on experience ahead of series against Canada

Josie Saint-Martin, a striker from Stillwater, Minnesota, finds herself representing the United States for the second time after an appearance at the U18 Women’s World Championship last June. She was thrilled to be named to the USA Women’s U18 Selection Team and to travel to Canada for a three-game series that begins today and ends August 20.

“It’s always fun to travel with teammates,” St. Martin said. “Just because of last summer, most of these things were where I lived, so I didn’t travel a lot. … But with this band, it’s always fun.

St. Martin is one of seven players who recently played for the United States U18 Women’s National Team in June. Joining her are goalie Annelies Bergmann (Detroit, Michigan), forward Cassie Room (South Lyon, Michigan), defenseman Molly Jordan (Berlin, Connecticut), forward Maggie Scannel (Wynantskill, New York), striker Finley McCarthy (Whitefish, Montana) and fellow Minnesota forward Ava Lindsay (Wayzata, Minnesota).

The group won silver medals at the 2022 IIHF World Women’s Under-18 Championship, losing 3-2 to Canada in the gold medal game in Madison, Wisconsin. St. Martin has scored two goals in those five games.

In goal, Bergmann, who went 3-0-0-1 with a 1.51 goals-against average and .934 save percentage in the championship, will be joined by Minnetonka High School’s Layla Hemp (Chanhassen, Minnesota). Danielle Strom (Dayton, Minnesota) was selected to the team but was unable to attend the series in Calgary.

“We have a really good girl group,” St. Martin said. “We are all super excited. And warm-ups are always super fun. We’re always loud and excited during warm-ups, and I think we just have a great group.

Other Minnesotans on the list include defenders Elly Klepinger (Corcoran, Minn.), Cailin Mumm (Andover, Minnesota), and forwards Lindzi Avar (Chanhassen, Minnesota) and Grace Sadura (Chanhassen, Minnesota). Klepinger, Avar, and Sadura are all from the Minnetonka High School curriculum.

The rest of the defensive unit includes Kamdyn Davis (Beloit, Wis.) Rose Dwyer (Wynnewood, Pennsylvania), Gaby Kim (Los Angeles) and Rosie Klein (Chicago). The remaining attackers are Peyton Compton (Sanford, Florida), Lucia DiGirolamo (Woburn, Mass.) Annabelle Fanale (Webster, New York), Alexandra Lalonde (Irvine, California), Samantha Taber (Tewksbury, MA) and Ava Thomas (Dowington, Pennsylvania).