Lyon Hockey

Wolves snatch AHL awards

The American Hockey League announced on Sunday that Chicago Wolves forwards Andrew Poturalski and Stefan Noesen and goaltender Alex Lyon earned prestigious honors while helping Wolves win the Macgregor Kilpatrick Trophy as regular season champions. of the league.

Poturalski, the team captain, became the first AHL player to break the 100-point barrier since 2009-10 as he recorded two assists in Saturday’s regular-season finale to finish with 101 dots (28B, 73A). The 28-year-old Williamsville, New York native won the John B. Sollenberger Trophy as the league’s top points producer – and became the first player since Philadelphia’s Peter White in 1997-98 to win the crown of scorers in a consecutive match. late seasons. Poturalski joins Wolves’ Sollenberger winning list which includes Steve Maltais (2001-02), Darren Haydar (2006-07), Jason Krog (2007-08) and Kenny Agostino (2016-17).

Noesen scored 48 goals in 70 games for the Wolves – more than double his career high in a professional season – to win the Willie Marshall Award which goes to the AHL’s top scorer and finish with the highest goal tally of the league since 2009-ten. Noesen also led the AHL in game-winning goals (13) and first goals (13) while finishing second in the plus-minus (+35) rankings. The 29-year-old assistant captain from Plano, Texas joins Brett Sterling (2006-07), Krog (2007-08) and Wade Megan (2016-17) as Wolves winners of the Marshall Award.

Lyon is acclaimed as the winner of the Harry “Hap” Holmes Memorial Award which is given to all goalkeepers who have played at least 25 games for the team that finishes with the lowest goals-against average. The 29-year-old Baudette, Minnesota native produced an 18-7-3 record in 30 appearances for Wolves and his 2.16 average ranked second in the league.

Wolves posted a 2.55 goals-against average in their 76 games as they used a franchise-record eight goaltenders – Pyotr Kochetkov, Jack LaFontaine, Michael Lackey, Lyon, Eetu Makiniemi, Daniel Mannella , Beck Warm and Dylan Wells – to bad weather, illnesses and National Hockey League loan recalls.

Wolves, who set a franchise record with a league-best 0.724 point percentage (50-16-5-5), will hold the home advantage throughout the Calder Cup playoffs. As the Central Division seed, they earned a first-round bye and await the winner of the best-of-3 series between fourth-seeded Rockford and fifth-seeded Texas, which begins Wednesday.

The winner of this series takes on Wolves in the best of 5 Central Division semi-finals which begins the second week of May. At a minimum, Wolves are guaranteed to host a home game at 7 p.m. on Saturday, May 14 at Allstate Arena. To buy tickets for this date, click on here. For the latest information on playoff tickets, times and dates, visit or contact a team representative at [email protected].